Sincere battle or clever form of advertising?

21 Aug

I’m totally in favour of diversity in media, I really am. But sometimes (or should I say: most of the time) brands, magazines and designers use the diversity-battle just for the attention.

Today, I bumped into the newest Diesel-images. With the hashtag ‘#dieselreboot’, their aim is to applaud bravery, fearlessness, coolness, freedom and creativity. Opening up a new era where everyone can be themselves.

Sound really cool and all, but I stay sceptic.

As long as my bubble but-sisters and I can’t find a nicely fitting jeans at the Diesel-store, I’m not buying this diversity-attempt.

But I can be wrong! So next week I’m gonna hit the main jeansstores in my hometown Antwerp, and try to find out how easy it’s gonna be to ‘just be myself’. Keep you posted😉

All my love,

Sabine

181000-800w181001-800w

4 Responses to “Sincere battle or clever form of advertising?”

  1. Tara 23/08/2013 at 1:04 PM #

    Ik ben erg benieuwd naar je bevindingen!
    Vrouwelijke vormen ftw, maar niet in een pashokje..

  2. Tine Van den Poel 23/08/2013 at 3:59 PM #

    Hopelijk dat ze niet alleen hun maten in de winkels aanpassen, maar ook diversiteit niet als campagne, maar als standaard te gebruiken – zowel in reclamebeelden als op de catwalk.

  3. Estelle Folle 02/09/2013 at 12:48 PM #

    Ik ben ook erg benieuwd, vind dat Diesel een pracht collectie heeft maar met mijn maat 42-44 kan ik zelden iets van hun aan.

  4. Daphné Lason 13/09/2013 at 10:10 PM #

    Hoe was het passen? Ik vind Diesel ook super maar zoals je zegt, merken gebruiken en misbruiken vaak de media. Sad but true!

    http://www.loveforlabels.eu

Leave a Reply

